Calling the VBScript InStr function returns error

I am forced to work in classic ASP for some project. I don’t want to, it’s not my idea, but there we have it – the life of a consultant is fraught with peril.

While working on some VBScript code, I wrote some code to check permissions using the InStr function, and ran into this error:

Invalid procedure call or argument: 'InStr'

My call to InStr looked like this:

InStr(0, AllowablePermissions,UserPermissions)

According to w3schools.com , the first parameter, which was optional, defined the starting location. On a whim, I removed the first parameter, so my function call then looked liked this:

InStr(AllowablePermissions,UserPermissions)

And it worked. Go figure.

  1. #1 by Damian on March 17, 2013 - 6:00 pm

    Had the same problem, fixed it by changing my starting location from 0 to 1.

Leave a Reply

