Connecting Visual Studio 2008 to TFS 2010

We have an environment that requires both Visual Studio 2008 and Visual Studio 2010. Our repository is in Team Foundation Server 2010, and that holds both 2008 and 2010 data.

VS 2010 was working fine, but I could not get VS 2008 to connect to TFS. Looking for a solution, I saw blogs that mentioned there should be a “Team” menu, and a “Connect to Team Foundation Server” option under the Tools menu, among other things. I didn’t have that. I had installed Team System 2010 Team Explorer, but it wasn’t working.

So I finally figured out (i.e. found an article) that I needed Visual Studio Team System 2008 Team Explorer to get it working.  Hopefully, I can save someone that “duh” moment by pointing it out.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

