“Cannot generate SSPI context” in Azure

I had been happily working on a piece of the functionality that included logging to a SQL Server database. Since all looked good locally, I uploaded my application to my Azure web site to run as a web job. When I checked the Azure logs for my web job, the Sad Clown of Life struck, and my job had failed. In the log I found some SQL errors, the telltale message being this:

 “The target principal name is incorrect. Cannot generate SSPI context”

 Turns out that Azure doesn’t like the line “Integrated Security=True” in the connection string. After adjusting my connection string, all was well.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

