TypeInitializationException using Zoom.Net.YazSharp.Connection object

I have done work with the YazSharp.dll, which allows you, through .NET, to connect to servers using the Z39.50 protocol. While debugging, I was seeing an exception when I initialized my Zoom Connection object:

Dim conn As New Zoom.Net.YazSharp.Connection(server, port)

 This error was throwing a TypeInitializationException:

 System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for ‘Zoom.Net.YazSharp.Connection’ threw an exception. —> System.DllNotFoundException: Unable to load DLL ‘yaz’: The specified module could not be found

 The solution to this is not only add references to the Zoom.Net.dll and Zoom.Net.YazSharp.dll files, but to add all the other relevant files from the Release folder into the bin directory of your project. In my case, I had forgotten to put the Zoom.Net.Factory.config file in the folder. Once I had put that file in along with all the *.dll files, it works. Jai himself mentions that in the comment of his blog post, but I thought I would reinforce that this will solve the issue.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

