Finding Silverlight configuration files

I was working with Silverlight application that had some a couple of configuration files. When starting up my application, I got a relatively helpful error message that pointed to the missing configuration file, which was http://localhost:2784/Config/cool_config.xml

I’m always pleasantly surprised when I get a helpful error message when developing.

However, there was no such directory. So where was my missing file?

If you pull up the ASP.NET Development Server window that starts when you are debugging an web-based application, you will see a window similar to this:

Development Server

Development Server

 

The “Physical Path” field contains the location of the application. From that base directory, I was able to find where my configuration file should have been and put it there.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

