The Entity Framework provider type… exception when unit testing

While merrily going about my business creating an MVC project using Entity Framework 6 against an Oracle database, I decided that unit testing my data layer would be a fun, useful thing to do. So I added a reference to my MVC project into my unit test project and away I went. But not too far because I got this error:

{System.InvalidOperationException: The Entity Framework provider type ‘Oracle.ManagedDataAccess.EntityFramework.EFOracleProviderServices, Oracle.ManagedDataAccess.EntityFramework, Version=6.121.2.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89b483f429c47342’ registered in the application config file for the ADO.NET provider with invariant name ‘Oracle.ManagedDataAccess.Client’ could not be loaded. Make sure that the assembly-qualified name is used and that the assembly is available to the running application.

This was thankfully an easy issue to correct. In my unit test project, I added references to the Oracle.ManagedDataAccess and Oracle.ManagedDataAccess.EntityFramework DLLs, and I was testing like a madman.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

